Farmer’s Market Day!

After 9 long months of moving here, I finally decided to pull up my socks and take that subway ride all the way down to St. Lawrence Market, today. Turns out it’s not as hard as I thought it would be! It’s been on my ‘To-Do’ (To-Go?) list for almost as long as I have been here.


Here’s a little background for those of you who aren’t well acquainted with the city. St. Lawrence Market is one of the most popular farmer’s markets in Downtown Toronto. They are often listed as a must visit spot for tourists mainly owing to its amazing variety of produce, meat, one-of-a kind desserts and what and what not – all made available in the heart of the city.

Ever since I’ve been bitten by the ‘all things organic’ bug, I’ve wanted to check out this space hoping to find variations of things I normally wouldn’t come across at my regular grocery store, and also to stock up my pantry with some healthier alternatives as opposed to what already exists therein. And believe me, I wasn’t disappointed !

St. Lawrence market is a haven for fresh organic produce and meat. But what I was most excited to see were the low-fat, vegan, gluten free dessert and other food options they had in store. Better still they even had a stock of all the material you needed to make all of this by yourself at home. The food courts again had a wide array of cuisines to choose from, all super heathy options for the most part. For anyone looking to spend their day shopping and taste-testing different cuisines, this is sure to be a great experience. Also, another reason you must visit the place- they have the BEST strawberries ever! Trust me, I would go back there just for another batch of them.

Here are (quite) a few glimpses of my visit there earlier today…

The strawberries!


Getting home seemed like too long a wait

The husband & his taste-testing decisions

Returning home after a day well spent looks something like this πŸ™‚ By the way, the Rose and Pistachio cake I bought there earlier today is to die for. Time to bribe the husband with the promise of homemade desserts in exchange for a cup of tea. Bliss!

4 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Day!

  1. You’re such a diva! Also, if you ever do a meal prep or try out new recipes for lazy people, do share them here. I’d appreciate some help in the cooking department πŸ˜› And this is great! Looking forward to reading more of your blog πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, girl! πŸ˜ƒAnd I plan to post recipes too. I’m working on a super easy one for tomorrow actually ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

