August Beauty Favourites!

Hello everyone! πŸ™‚

This is one list that I’ve been mentally putting together every time I’ve found a product that I absolutely loved or thought lived up to the hype.

I’ve spent a fair share of my late teens and early twenties figuring out what kind of skin I had and trying and testing different products to see what worked well for my skin and what did wonders for it! And overtime I had built my skincare repertoire around products that I knew I could depend on. I had finally attained a level of skincare nirvana – I had a complete skincare regimen and my skin had never felt better. But that’s when life came in the way and I had to move to a completely different country, where the climate, food and everything else was starkly different from what I was used to. And the inevitable happened! My skin was revolting against me and so was my hair. (But how I have more hair on the floor of my house than my head is a story for another day). I had breakouts for months, my skin was very dull and none of the products I used to swear by earlier seemed to be working for me. All things considered, I wasn’t very pleased.

After months of waiting for a ‘miracle’ to happen, I decided that it was finally time to slowly put away whatever I was using and swap them for products that would work for me in my new environment. After some advice, research, risk purchases and samples given to me by a friend, I’ve started restoring my skincare army, and in this post I’m sharing some of the products I’ve loved using and that have really made a difference.

  1. Don’t Look At Me Fresh Face Mask by LUSH

Lush

I was never a face-mask person until I was introduced to this mask. It’s primary ingredients are ground rice, murumuru butter, lemon juice and organic tofu to name a few.Β  The mask is a great exfoliant and is super moisturizing. And did I mention that instantly brighter skin is one of its best side-effects?

2. Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer by NARS

90x3553x2321medium

Since I’m home most of the time and my outings were limited to grocery-store or mall runs and the occasional get-togethers, I constantly felt the need to substitute my foundation with something lighter. This moisturizer was one I instantly fell in love with when I was at Sephora trying out different products. It’s a light formulation with great coverage for a product in its category. Definitely a must try for anyone looking out for tinted moisturizers or BB creams.

3. Rose Petal Witch Hazel Toner by Thayers

Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel / Affordable Rose Water Toner

This was one of those amazing discoveries I made online while I was looking for a natural, alcohol-free toner to help soothe acne. I read great reviews about it and decided to give it shot. This toner is inexpensive but does every bit of what it claims to do. The witch hazel extract in this toner stands out because it is not distilled, and maintains all of its beneficial natural tannins. It started clearing out my skin in just a few days from the time I started using it and best of all, it smells like an absolute dream!

4. Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse by Tarte

Tarte

I must admit that ever since the eye-brow definition rage began, I wanted to jump on the bandwagon and experiment with my brows as well. Many such terrible experiments later I think I’ve finally found the one! This eye-brow gel is one of my favourite products in my make-up bag. The gel has a very natural tint that isn’t jarring and doesn’t give that artificial look to your brows. Also unlike most brands that I’ve tried, the brush included with the product is of amazing quality and is perfectly angled, which makes the application of the product a breeze.

5. Water Sleeping Mask by Laneige

qUPstXE

I haven’t come across anyone who’s used this product and hasn’t fallen in love with it! A friend of mine who has the biggest skincare fetish (and the most enviable collection of products!) suggested that I try this one night when I was sleeping over at her place. All you need is a drop of the product to slather across your face before you go to bed at night and the next day you wake up with the softest, most hydrated skin! Why would you not want to have one of these on your nightstand if you could wake up like that every morning?

If any of you have used these products, let me know in the comments below what you think of them. Also, don’t forget to mention your holy-grail products. I would love to check them out and probably even try some of them! πŸ™‚

(Thayers PC: Simone Digital & Laniege PC: Love at First Sight)

6 thoughts on “August Beauty Favourites!

  1. I have bookmarked this page and will be going back to it after my holiday. My skin and hair need some love! Thanks a bunch for the recommendations. I’m especially intrigued to try out the lush mask and the laneige water sleeping mask πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the look of that Lush mask, I’m currently using the Cup O Coffee mask and I’m loving it. I had the Laneige sleeping mask a few years back and loved it, your post reminded me I need to buy a new one! Jay x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

